Freemasonry – Scottish Rite Degrees

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is one of many global Rites, which is a fraternity of Freemasonry. It is often simply called Scottish Rite. Every Masonic group has it’s own central authority and the Supreme Council is the power of the Scottish Rite. In the United States there are two jurisdictions of Scottish Rite: Northern Masonic Jurisdiction and Southern Masonic Jurisdiction. They vary slightly in their degree names.

Scottish Rite Degrees – Craft Lodge (1° – 3°)

There are thirty-three degrees in the Scottish Rite. Numerous controlling bodies confer them. The Craft Lodge (Blue Lodge) is the first of these and includes the Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason degrees. These are the first three degrees needed to be completed to join the Scottish Rite. Once a member has become a Master Mason, he then can go on to further his education through the additional degrees. These degrees are obtained when a candidate learns a lesson by observation of a play. These plays include current events of historical importance or many times Biblical ones.

The third Masonic degree, known as the Master Mason, is the highest reachable rank in all of Masonry. The Scottish Rite degrees are the fourth through thirty-third degrees that can be attained after becoming a Master Mason.  These degrees are not considered ranks, but rather further education in the principles of Freemasonry. There are a few lodges that do use the first three Scottish Rite degrees, but this is seldom the case.

Scottish Rite Degrees  – Lodge of Perfection (4° – 14°)

This is the fourth through fourteenth degrees that are called the “Ineffable Degrees” of the Rite. They investigate and study the unspeakable name of Deity. They include the following:

Northern Jurisdiction            Southern Masonic Jurisdiction

4°    Master Traveler            Secret Master
5°    Perfect Master                Perfect Master
6°    Master of the Brazen Serpent        Intimate Secretary
7°    Provost and Judge            Provost and Judge
8°    Intendant of the Building        Intendant of the Building
9°    Master of the Temple            Elu of the Nine
10°    Master Elect                Elu of the Fifteen
11°    Sublime Master Elected        Elu of the Twelve
12°    Grand Master Architect        Master Architect
13°    Master of the Ninth Arch        Royal Arch of Solomon
14°    Grand Elect Mason            Perfect Elu

Scottish Rite Degrees – Chapter of Rose Croix (15° – 18°)

This is the fifteenth through the eighteen degrees. They give the candidates a better knowledge of ethics, religion, philosophy, and history. They include the following:

15°    Knight of the East or Sword        Knight of the East, of the Sword, or of the Eagle
16°    Prince of Jerusalem            Prince of Jerusalem
17°    Knight of the East and West        Knight of the East and West
18°    Knight of the Rose Croix de        Knight Rose Croix Heredom Council of Kadosh

Scottish Rite Degrees – Council of Kadosh (19° – 30°)

This is the nineteen through thirtieth degrees. These degrees teach philosophy, chivalry, and are full of mystery and symbols. They include the following:

19°    Grand Pontiff                Grand Pontiff
20°    Master ad Vitam            Master of the Symbolic Lodge
21°    Patriarch Noachite            Noachite, or Prussian Knight
22°    Prince of Libanus            Knight of the Royal Axe, or Prince of Libanus
23°    Chief of the Tabernacle        Chief of the Tabernacle
24°    Brother of the Forest            Prince of the Tabernacle
25°    Master of Achievement        Knight of the Brazen Serpent
26°    Friend and Brother Eternal        Prince of Mercy, or Scottish Trinitarian
27°    Knight of Jerusalem            Knight Commander of the Temple
28°    Knight of the Sun, or Prince        Knight of the Sun, or Prince Adept Adept
29°    Knight of St. Andrew            Scottish Knight of Saint Andrew
30°    Grand Inspector            Knight Kadosh, or Knight of the White and Black Eagle

Scottish Rite Degrees – Consistory (31° – 32°)

This is the thirty-first through thirty-second degrees. They vary in content and form. They include the following:

31°    Knight Aspirant            Inspector Inquisitor
32°    Sublime Prince of the Royal        Master of the Royal Secret Secret

Scottish Rite Degrees – Court of Honour (33°)

There are various honors that members can receive when they have given exceptional service. Both the Northern and Southern Jurisdiction call this Inspector General. These are honorary achievements.