Coin, Scissors symbol, see pictures

paul79

Hello, I am currently studying the history of our local masonic chapter 12 in Mankato MN. I have a masonic penny (one of the keepsake type of coins that state "ONE PENNY" on the front and on the back have different symbols depending on the chapter. This coin is for the Chapter # 7 in Mankato MN and includes a symbol of a pair of scissors, which I am unable to find any information on. I have read through several historical documents for the Mankato Masonic Temple but have found no reference to the symbol or the coin. I believe the coin to be circa 1910 - 30. Primarily my question is regarding the symbol of the scissors. Can anyone tell me about the symbolism of scissors within the freemason society? Any information would be much appreciated. See attached pictures. I apologize for the repeat post but I couldn't add the pictures to the previous post already created.

Attachments

Zack

The scissors are not a Masonic symbol.

The coin is a York Rite item and the scissors are a personal "symbol", maybe connected with his occupation.

Not being a York Rite Mason, I don't know any of the particulars about the symbolism of the coin itself but A York Rite member will surely be along in a while and explain it to you.

CoachN

Builder Builder
Since HA was also an artificer of every cutting instrument of brass and iron -- as is every Master Mason who passes to MM -- it doesn't surprise me to see metal shears appearing on a Masonic coin.

It's about time one showed up!

Casey

MM, RAM, 32nd.
The scissors are not a Masonic symbol.

The coin is a York Rite item and the scissors are a personal "symbol", maybe connected with his occupation.

Not being a York Rite Mason, I don't know any of the particulars about the symbolism of the coin itself but A York Rite member will surely be along in a while and explain it to you.
You rang?