How to begin

HarrisonK

I think before I ask any questions I should briefly introduce myself.

My name is Harrison and I am currently a student at American University in Washington D.C.. My friend got me into masonry last year by explaining to me what it was, or what he thought it was. Since then I've been doing countless hours of research about it and to my surprise, I found out my grandfather is a MM and was one of the founders of a lodge in my hometown. He then helped my friend get into a lodge.

I'd like to join but I'm under age. From what I understand one must be 21 years old to join, except for in PA, where one has to be 18. It is my understanding that this is because lodges in PA do not serve alcohol.

As I said earlier I live in D.C. and my dorm is about two blocks from a lodge. I was wondering if D.C. has the same age limit as PA, or if the age is 21 here. Is it okay to walk into the lodge on a night of a meeting and ask to speak to someone about joining?

Is there anything else I can do to get involved in masonry before my 21st birthday? After Thanksgiving I'm going to apply for an internship at the Supreme Council (Scottish Rite Freemasonry - Welcome to the Supreme Council, 33°, Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite, Southern Jurisdiction, USA) to try to be involved before I am a mason. I have a few books on order and I've watched many documentaries online. I'm also planning on taking a course the Supreme Council offers to try to learn a little before I apply.

What else can I do?

Ashlar2006

Masonic Mafia
Firstly , a few states or jurisdictions as we call them have lowered their ages to 18 . We in Ky lowered ours a couple of years ago .

I also can not tell you how happy I am to hear of young man like yourself being interested in Freemasonry .

I do not think you can take the courses that the Scottish Rite has to offer because one must give their Masonic affliation details when ordering the course .