Crossroads in Masonry

Lionheart

Brothers,
I have been an Entered Apprentice since August. I have been attending fellowship at the Lodge with my Brethren since March. We are involved in a peculiar situation. We are moving in Dec. or Jan.

I have been active in Lodge, participated in all function's in and out of Lodge. My Great, Great, Great Grandfather down through my Grandfather and Uncle's were or are Mason's they all went down the traditional path and raised a mason through Ritual at Lodge.

Because of recent events and the influx of new members, it seem's that the Lodge has not been able to advance myself through the degree's and some other candidate's as well. As I said I have been at lodge every time the door has opened as I really enjoy masonry and all its traditions. I study and read about masonry seeking light and wisdom.

I want to be a voice in and out of Lodge to do more within the community and to help other's in need of help in these troubled times. It seems that now since we have so many brethren becoming member's of the Lodge that the member's of the Lodge have decided that it may be neccasary to do a " Blue Lightning" in which we would all be raised to Master Mason.

I have to admit that to become a Master Mason in one sitting is very tempting but, on the other hand I would miss out on what so many other brethren have experienced before me. The other thing that concerns me is that some of the gentlemen that have become EA's have only been to Lodge a handful of times. If I refuse to be raised to Master Mason at the " Blue Lightning " event then it may be some time before I am raised due to circumstances beyond the Lodge's control. Not to mention when will they even have time to practice for the ritual.