home brewing

just curious how many on the forum home brew their own beer? i've been homebrewing for about 7-8 years now. been thinking about getting into making my own wine as well.

johnj1582

I've been homebrewing for about 4 years now. I haven't really tried doing wine yet, but I've done some meads and a braggot... I usually do 5 gallon batches, mostly ales.

There's a few brothers at my lodge who also brew their own beer, actually.

G

Gary

I homebrew. I've been doing it for a few years now. I'm an extract brewer though. I don't do all grain, but I have a friend that does.

edwmax

It's been a while since making beer. But i don keep some wine working. Currently about 30 gals .... 15 from last year and 15 now ready to be racked. Oh, 8 gal of very good wine vinegar.

johnj1582

I mostly do extract with specialty grains... I'd really like to try all-grain, but i think i need some more practice first

G

Gary

Specialty grains are easy. I can never get the mash temps right for all grain.

it's cool to see how many people homebrew their own beer. the hobby seems to be more popular as the years have gone by since i started brewing about 8 years ago. i've even had co-workers ask about how to get started in homebrewing.
when i brew, i brew extracts with grains. don't know if i'll make the jump to all-grain; if i go all-grain, it'll be a while from now.

G

Gary

Do you do full or partial boils? I have a turkey fryer that I do full boils with.

Do you keg or bottle? What types of beer do you brew?

Do you do full or partial boils? I have a turkey fryer that I do full boils with.

Do you keg or bottle? What types of beer do you brew?
right now i do partial boils. i currently don't have a boil pot big enough to do a full boil, which will eventually change once i decide to buy a turkey fryer.
i also bottle. having to clean 50 bottles does get a little old, so i'm currently saving some dollars for a kegging system.