masonic instructor?

Did a 3rd degree at my lodge earlier this evening. Although I've done a couple parts in other degrees, I've been most active in taking parts in this particular degree. Afterwards, a brother aproached me asking if I considered becoming a masonic instructor.
For those of you who are a masonic instructor, I was just wondering how long have you been active in blue lodge before you became a masonic instructor?
I was raised in Aug. 2010, and the more I think about it, the more I'm considering making this a goal.

Windrider

Plus-sized tuxedo model
I'm trained and qualified to be an instructor, but I am not allowed to teach at Lodge of Instruction as long as I'm an Officer. Grand Lodge wants LOI to be about the candidates and the Officers and since the Candidates go out of the lodge room for instruction, the instructor can't be present for the Officers' training.

I took my certification test about a year after I was Raised. I'm a Gnerd, though. I read everything I can get my hands on about the Craft and know a lot of the history that even our WMs don't know.

Though I am not “trained” and/or “certified” I have been mentoring new Brothers (and even of few older Brothers) for a year or so. I was raised in February 2010 and like Brother Windrider I love to read everything that I can about Masonry. I find that they best way to learn is to teach what you think you already know. You will be amazed how much you learn when you are forced to answer questions posed by another Brother. We all see things from our own perspective. Your knowledge will grow in leaps and bounds once you are able to see and explain something from multiple perspectives. I love to “instruct” new and existing Brothers whenever possible and would highly recommend you do it as well.