I want to join.

Don

Greetings, After going back and forth for several years, I've decided to join the Freemasons. My Grandfather was a Mason, and both paternal and fraternal grandmothers were members of the Eastern Star. As a former police officer, I miss the comradeship of belonging to a fraternal organization. My only question, which I want to ask here in a general forum, and not my soon to be sponsor is, what is the average age of a Freemason now? I'm 49 years old and wonder if the membership is generally much older than that. I know to truly learn I'd have to check with the actual lodge I'm applying to for their demographics, but in general terms, is the brotherhood getting younger?
Aside from that, I'm looking forward to a life of learning and fulfillment.

Oh yeah, when do I get my key to the treasure room? ;)
(Sorry, I saw that in another post and couldn't resist! :D)

Derric

I'm not a Mason....yet, but here's my advice:

Your grandfather being a Mason is a great start. One of the first things about being a Mason is that you have to know one for at least a year, so they can vouch for your character. If I were you, I'd tell the grandfather that I want to join.

Ashlar2006

Masonic Mafia
Greetings, After going back and forth for several years, I've decided to join the Freemasons. My Grandfather was a Mason, and both paternal and fraternal grandmothers were members of the Eastern Star. As a former police officer, I miss the comradeship of belonging to a fraternal organization. My only question, which I want to ask here in a general forum, and not my soon to be sponsor is, what is the average age of a Freemason now? I'm 49 years old and wonder if the membership is generally much older than that. I know to truly learn I'd have to check with the actual lodge I'm applying to for their demographics, but in general terms, is the brotherhood getting younger?
Aside from that, I'm looking forward to a life of learning and fulfillment.