St. Patty's Day

So, it started to look like our annual Shrine Club's St. Patty's day feast of Corned Beef, Cabbage, and beer was losing interest and in danger of disappearing. As a rare Irishman in the land of Scandihoovians and Germans, I couldn't let this happen. So, yes, I volunteered to host and cook for this event in March at our lodge. Now, I'm a fairly capable cook, but, although proud Irish in heritage, haven't done much with corned beef and cabbage other than throwing it in a pot and letting it boil until it's falling apart. Would like to Jazz this up a bit, but keep an Irish theme. Any suggestions????
Mike

Bob Franks

Past District Deputy Grand Lecturer
Saint Patrick's Day

So, it started to look like our annual Shrine Club's St. Patty's day feast of Corned Beef, Cabbage, and beer was losing interest and in danger of disappearing. As a rare Irishman in the land of Scandihoovians and Germans, I couldn't let this happen. So, yes, I volunteered to host and cook for this event in March at our lodge. Now, I'm a fairly capable cook, but, although proud Irish in heritage, haven't done much with corned beef and cabbage other than throwing it in a pot and letting it boil until it's falling apart. Would like to Jazz this up a bit, but keep an Irish theme. Any suggestions????
Mike
How could ya' consider a celebration important to the Irish without considerin' what you would use to moisten the throat? You wouldn't want tah have any one choke on the beef!
How about a nice smooth Cork Stout like Beamish, or maybe Murphy's if you can't find Beamish?
You might have to settle for the Liffy River's Guinness, though.

Top of the marnin' to ya!

jason

Seanchaí
Staff member
Some the corn beef. This is what I do now, and will not go back to boiling it. I even take a spicy mustard, put a thick layer of it on the top of the corn beef before smoking. It is making me drool just thinking about it, as I absolutely love corn beef.