The Women go crazy...

Windrider

Plus-sized tuxedo model
The building committee rented the dining hall of our Masonic Building to the city for the first evening of Lowell Winterfest. The event going on during our lodge meeting upstairs was a microbrewery beer tasting. Being an officer, I was dressed n my tux. After lodge closed, I decided to see if ZZ Top was right about the women going crazy about a sharp-dressed man.

I can confirm that ZZ Top had it right. I was handed beer by women wherever I turned and in some cases, in preference to others. Whenever I asked, the women confirmed that indeed, they were going crazy over a sharp-dressed man.

I have decided to wear my tux at all times now ;)

jaya

I wish we could have beer in our lodge......I live in the town voted Beer City USA for the last 3 years and can not enjoy a beer on lodge property.

Bob Franks

Past District Deputy Grand Lecturer
I wish we could have beer in our lodge......I live in the town voted Beer City USA for the last 3 years and can not enjoy a beer on lodge property.
...and lodges were mostly started in UK and the North American colonies in rooms rented from taverns!
Thank our puritan forefathers and those who believed Prohibition would solve problems!

S&F

kblair210

If drinks were allowed (referring to AFTER official business is completed, and the lodge closed) while lounging around the dining area of the lodge, how many fewer brothers would look for that type of 'hanging out with the brothers for a drink or two' in the Shriners versus just staying at the lodge a bit longer after meetings completed? Yes yes, I know, you don't need alcohol to enjoy your brothers company and all that. But there's something to be said about enjoying a beer with a brother during a game of pool, or cards, or whatever.