Has this ever happened to you?

Custer... I need to add that when I say work... I mean I am there...LOL....going back to 5 days a week would be weird...after 10 yrs of this schedule....

G

Gary

Yeah, 40 hour work weeks took me two years to get used to. I had been doing 24/48's for nearly 20 years at that point.

My suspicions were confirmed. Pneumonia. :(

Now I have a crap load of meds to take for the Holidays. Oh joy. Going to pick those up from the pharmacy now.

Custer148

Masonic Traveler
Custer... I need to add that when I say work... I mean I am there...LOL....going back to 5 days a week would be weird...after 10 yrs of this schedule....
fireman, with my job, up till 2 years ago, was a blast -- it involved driving a school bus full of 35 or 40 "little darlings" twice a day (it helped keep me young). Now I have changed districts and I am stuck in the office during routes and in the shop the rest of the time. I almost think I would welcome 24 on 48 off ....... NOT. I'll stick with the 5 days 9 - 10 hrs per day. Now I have a growing forehead.LOL

This schedule is not for everyone......we have a neighboring department that works 24 on 72 off....thats sweet but a department across town works 48/96....not sure if I would like that.....working 5 days, does that mean you can only sleep in 2 days???:eek:

G

Gary

This schedule is not for everyone......we have a neighboring department that works 24 on 72 off....thats sweet but a department across town works 48/96....not sure if I would like that.....working 5 days, does that mean you can only sleep in 2 days???:eek:
Yes, it does Brother. But the perks are that I sleep in my own bed every night and I don't have to be awakened by alarms going off at all hours of the night (for mostly non-emergent BS calls) anymore. It also means that I get ALL of the holidays off with full pay. :cool: