Freemasonry/Shrine

Ashlar2006

Masonic Mafia
Another question I would like to pose .....

I have read comments that if the Shrine broke away from our Fraternity that Freemasonry would go into decline . I personally do not believe that , for one thing most Nobels I talk to say they would quit the Shrine . So that is not a problem . It is true some will demit from the Fraternity , but some only became Masons to get into the Shrine anyway and I have no problem with those types leaving Freemasonry . And yes , we may lose some petitioners because they too only want to become a Mason to get into the Shrine and I have no problem losing them neither . I am not in the Nobel making business , I studied my butt off to make Masons .

So , do you think if the Shrine finally made the break some so desperately wants , would it really hurt us that bad ?

Ashlar2006

Masonic Mafia
OK , no takers . To expand on my question , are you for or against the Shrine going their own way and why ? What advantages would there be for both the Craft lodge and the Shrine , and what do you think would be the downfalls ?

Gary2112

Troll Stomper
Staff member
I don't think it will hurt us at all. Quite the opposite. It will bring us back to the threshing floor, where we will separate the Masons from Shriners. Those who WANT to be Mason's are the ones we want anyways.

cemab4y

The Shrine was set up in 1872, to provide Masons with an organization to have fun and celebrations outside of Craft Masonry. The organization flourished. The first hospital was set up in 1922, fifty years later. I like to think of the Shrine as a "playground" for Masons. If the Shrine and Craft lodge split, it will be a disaster for both organizations. There have been rumors of a possible split for some years, but the idea has never took hold. Too many Masons (including myself) are opposed to a break.

See http://www.beashrinernow.com for more information.

also see:

http://zorahshrine.org/_Home_Dec_2011/Shriner_Primer.pdf